This is who I am

It’s been a little while since I’ve posted. I’ve been focused on my social media accounts, living and dying with my retweets and follower counts as if they mean something important.

I care about how emotional issues can make social workers better at their jobs. If that resonates with you, welcome.

Like everyone new to social media and blogging, I’ve struggled to find my voice. I’ve labored over long, exhaustively researched articles only to realize you prefer personal, emotional essays. Doesn’t matter; I’ll keep writing both. I’ve written as if I’m an individual person or a company or a nonprofit, aping social media accounts I admire. At the end of the day, I’ve realized I can only be myself.

So let me tell you who I am.

image
Image by Wilson Joseph, The Noun Project

I’m a social worker – at least I usually am. My bosses have “suggested” I take medical leave, which I’m doing now.

Would you read a SocialWorked newsletter? If enough people sign up I’ll start writing. Click here to join the SocialWorked mailing list. I promise not to share your information.

They noticed I have severe depression (and anxiety), which impacts my work. For the better and worse. This blog is for writing about that.

I’m a guy writing from my apartment, which I find impossible to keep clean. I love my two dogs. I don’t get out enough.

I believe mental illness can be destigmatized, that it’s possible to start a national conversation about emotional wellbeing focused on everybody achieving wellness, and after believing that I usually masturbate and take a nap.

I’m interested in how things intersect. In particular, I care about how emotional issues can make social workers better at their jobs, in addition to making their jobs harder. If that resonates with you, welcome.

I have high hopes and dreams, despite not having my own shit figured out.

6 thoughts on “This is who I am

  1. Wishing you well. I’m an aspiring social worker who has also struggled with depression and anxiety. I think this will make me a more empathetic listener and a more determined problem solver. I think people who understand how our minds can make us sick have a great deal to contribute. I’m looking forward to reading your work and your insights.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks friend! I think you’re right – your struggles can help you be a fantastic social worker.

      Please be good about practicing self-care. For me that’s meditation and staying in contact with friends and family. Do you do anything to take care of yourself?

      Like

      1. I try! My therapist recently discussed “sleep hygiene” with me to help me with my anxiety at night, and adding rituals to perform before bed has been great. I also practice some yoga (I one day want to get yoga certified and incorporate it in my work) and I try to meditate, but I’ve been irregular about that (I’ve integrated using the Calm app during work to prevent me having breakdowns in the middle of the day). I’m getting better at asking for help from friends and being upfront about how I feel and what I need. This is the most challenging part, but it’s the most rewarding. Telling my friends about my struggles with the depression and anxiety, and asking them to be aware of that was really hard, but they’ve turned out to be so supportive and understanding. Much agreed – self care is essential.

        Like

      2. I’m glad your friends are supportive.
        Sleep hygiene is so tough – don’t know if you’re like me but I often find myself afraid to go to sleep. Maybe because I’m afraid of nightmares or starting a new day tomorrow.
        As corny as they seem, I find the music that comes up when you type “sleep music” into youtube to be very helpful. For example: http://ow.ly/4mXP8G
        Give it a go and let me know if it helps.
        Best.

        Like

  2. Thank you so much! Yes, let’s support each other.

    The lack of structure that comes with leaving work is a killer – much worse than the work itself. Right now I’m looking for ways to structure my time.

    Your feedback means a lot. I’m sure we’ll be talking again soon. 🙂

    Like

  3. Thank you for following my blog. I got you back and look forward to your posts.

    My very first anxiety/panic attack happened during a huge and very important interview (in social care,) and it led to a breakdown.

    I wanted that job so much and needless to say I didn’t get it and was forced to take time off.

    It just got worse from there on in.

    Take care of you…..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

